LIVING WITHIN: Architectural Symposium 2020

9 – 19 September

A programme of talks and discussions around how we inhabit spaces today.


This year’s architectural symposium considered the radical changes going on in the spaces we inhabit. From the context of both our own private and individual environments to how we engage with each other publicly in the future, we have all become increasingly aware of the space we are ‘living within’. Set against the backdrop of Elisabeth Frink’s studio, which was her creative space at Woolland, we joined leading minds from the fields of Architecture, Interior and Garden design to consider how good design has and is adapting to the changed environment and our contemporary concerns.


The symposium began with a talk by interior designer Emily Todhunter, founder of Todhunter Earle who has been at the forefront of the international interior design industry for over 20 years. On Thursday 10th Sue Stuart Smith spoke on the psychological benefits of gardening. Her book ‘The Well Gardened Mind’ investigates the magic that many gardeners have known for years – working with nature can radically transform our health, well-being and confidence.

Saturday was headlined by two panels discussions: A Place Apart and A Place Together, which recalled Frink’s statement about her studio and solitary practice and a contrasting talk about how collective spaces need to be reimagined and how architecture is adapting to a post Covid-19 Society.

On Wednesday 16th September we were joined by author and furniture maker Luke Hughes launching his book ‘Furniture in Architecture’ and he was in conversation with the author Aidan Walker.

Suzanne Fagence Cooper discussed the Red House and the world of Jane and William Morris. On Saturday the symposium closed with interior designer, Jane Churchill, who discussed her 40-year career in interior design.

The panel discussions included contributions from architects including Roger Zogolovitch, Jenny Jones, Philip Gumuchdjian, Peter Clegg, Fergus Feilden, Jessica Reynolds, Mark Merer, Piers Taylor, Christina Seilern and Niall McLaughlin amongst others.